Off-Campus Login Instructions
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your CLASS-Web PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's CLASS-Web page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your CLASS-Web PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles
- To limit your database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check the box "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" located in the left sidebar.
- To limit your results to full-text articles, check the box "Full Text".
Learn More: What is a scholarly/peer reviewed journal?
Article Databases (Magazines & Journals)
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals in nursing, medicine, and allied health disciplines. - Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and scholarly journals covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Database Searching Tips
1. Identify the keywords/search terms. Examples:
weight loss and exercise
smoking and quitting
2. Add keywords to narrow your search to include behavior change strategies. Examples:
|
|
3. Use quotation marks around phrases. Example:
"weight loss"
4. Use the connector word and to combine 2 keywords. This will narrow your search. Example:
"weight loss" and exercise
5. Use the connector word or to combine 2 similar keywords. This will broaden your search. Example:
diet or nutrition
Learn More: Searching with Boolean Operators
6. Use synonyms if you are not finding articles on your topic. Examples:
- Use cessation instead of quit (i.e., smoking and cessation)
- Use adherence instead of maintenance (i.e., exercise and adherence)