Reference Books for Background Information
When you are beginning to research a topic, use reference books such as encyclopedias and handbooks to find background information, broad overviews, and summaries.
Below you will find e-reference books you may access from home. Follow the Off-Campus Login Instructions, below.
Off-Campus Login Instructions
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your CLASS-Web PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's CLASS-Web page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your CLASS-Web PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.
e-Reference Databases
These two Library reference databases contain many e-books covering health health topics:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
Online Psychology Books
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve into specific subfields within psychology.
Recommended Health e-Reference Books
To access these books, click on blue title link. Then, in OneSearch, click on the link under View Online Full text availability.
- Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive BehaviorPublication Date: 2022
- The Gale Encyclopedia of FitnessPublication Date: 2017
- The Gale Encyclopedia of DietsPublication Date: 2013
- Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise PsychologyPublication Date: 2014
- Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and HealthPublication Date: 2012
- The Handbook of Health Behavior ChangePublication Date: 2013
- Encyclopedia of Mental HealthPublication Date: 2015
- Harvard Medical School Special Health ReportsPublication Date: 2019"Provide thorough insight into common conditions, diseases, and wellness issues. Each report focuses on a specific health concern and provides helpful tips for readers to further understand how to address and improve their health."
Recommended Online Health Sourcebooks
To access these books, click on blue title link. Then, in OneSearch, click on the link under View Online Full text availability.
- Women's Health Concerns SourcebookPublication Date: 2009
- Men's Health Concerns SourcebookPublication Date: 2009
- Alcoholism SourcebookPublication Date: 2010
- Diet and Nutrition SourcebookPublication Date: 2011
- Drug Abuse SourcebookPublication Date: 2010
- Fitness and Exercise SourcebookPublication Date: 2010
- Sleep Disorders SourcebookPublication Date: 2010
- Stress-Related Disorders SourcebookPublication Date: 2011
Print Encyclopedias Covering Health Topics
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise PsychologyCall Number: Ref. GV706.4 .E5 2014
Men's Health Concerns SourcebookCall Number: Ref. RA776.5 .M457 2019
Women's Health Concerns SourcebookCall Number: Ref. RA778 .W7543 2020
Diet and Nutrition SourcebookCall Number: Ref. RA784 .D534 2021
Sleep Disorders SourcebookCall Number: Ref. RC547 .S536 2019
Stress in the Modern World: Understanding Science and SocietyCall Number: Ref BF575 .S75 S77333 2017
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, 4th ed.Call Number: Ref RA776.9 .H36 2014
Alcoholism Sourcebook, 6th ed.Call Number: RC565 .A4493 2021
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook, 6th ed.Call Number: GV436 .F53 2019
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook, 6th ed.Call Number: RA785 .S78 2022
Smoking Concerns SourcebookCall Number: Ref. RA1242 .T6 S589 2019
