Off Campus Access to Databases
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your CLASS-Web PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's CLASS-Web page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your CLASS-Web PIN, it will also automatically update your library password (it may take up to 30 minutes before the password change is reflected for library services).
Scholarly Journals Vs. Popular Magazines
What are the Differences? LPC Library Short Guide.
Lights, Camera, Action!
Find Audio, Video, and Images for your group presentation.
Databases include:
Databases (Magazines, Journals, e-Books, etc.)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, and historical photos, maps, and videos.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to a variety of Salem Press reference books on topics such as immigration, turning points in history from the 1920's to the 1990's, as well as great historical events from the 17th to the 20th centuries. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles
To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database.
Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals. This icon is found before each entry.
Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.
Learn More:
Database Searching Tips
Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.
Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.
1) Determine the keywords
2) Use quotation marks around any phrases (e.g., "achievement gap")
3) Look at subject terms listed in the bibliographic record
4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**