Credo Reference Search Box
Like the reference section in the library, use Credo Reference database for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
This online version contains nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo also brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Use similar search strategies as you would with our online catalog and databases.
Reference Collection
Use REFERENCE BOOKS for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Sample Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by Call Number: Ref HQ 115 E55 2011
Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide by Call Number: Ref HQ 1180 F424 2010
Women in the Third World; An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues by Call Number: Ref HQ 1870.9 W6548 1998
Locating Books in the LPC Library
Finding titles that relate to your topic, can be done in the Find Materials Here section on the Library Homepage.
Advanced Search
Sample Searches:
Women and "Middle East" (Be sure to use quotation marks when typing "Middle East")
Arab and Women
Women and "Middle East" and feminism (this search can be similar to other topics. Example: women and "Middle East" and education, or women and "Middle East" and religion).
Women and Iraq (Enter the phrase women and your country in the search box. Example: Women and Israel, or Women and Lebanon)
Ebooks
Las Positas and Chabot Libraries have a large collection of ebooks available for you to use.
- Access ebooks by searching the library's online catalog or going directly to the EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
- You can read the ebooks online or print the maximum allowed.
- If you are using the ebooks from off-campus, you will need to login with your W# and library password (same as your CLASS-Web password).
Sample Check-Out Titles
Middle Eastern Muslim Women Speak by Call Number: HQ1170 .M53ISBN: 0292750331Publication Date: 1977-02-01
Nine Parts of Desire by Call Number: HQ1170 .B76 1995ISBN: 0385475764Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Arab Women by Call Number: HQ1170 .A73 1996ISBN: 156656199XPublication Date: 1996-10-01- Arab Women by Call Number: HQ1784 .A72 1993ISBN: 025336096XPublication Date: 1993-06-01
Seen and Heard by Call Number: PJ7538 .M554 2004ISBN: 1566564638Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Sample Check-Out Titles
Arab and Arab American Feminisms by Call Number: HQ1729.5 .A73 2011ISBN: 9780815632238Publication Date: 2010-11-15- Modernizing Women by Call Number: HQ1726.5 .M64 1993ISBN: 9781555873462Publication Date: 1993-03-01
Women in the Middle East by Call Number: HQ1726.5 H37 1996ISBN: 9780531113042Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Women and Gender in Islam by Call Number: HQ1784 .A67 1992ISBN: 9780300049428Publication Date: 1992-02-26- Price of Honor by Call Number: HQ1170 .G66 1994ISBN: 0316320285Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Mapping Arab Women's Movements: A Century of Transformations from Within by Call Number: HQ 1784 M36 2012
